Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Please remember to maintain social distancing when you pick up / drop off your child.

Term and Holiday Dates

TERM DATES 2020-2021

Autumn term 2020

INSET days Thursday 3 and Friday 4 September
Starts Monday 7 September
Half term Monday 26 to Friday 30 October
END Thursday 17 December
INSET day Friday 18 December
Spring term 2021
Starts Monday 4 January
INSET day Friday 12 February
Half term Monday 15 to Friday 19 February
Ends Thursday 1 April
Summer term 2021
Starts Monday 19 April
INSET day Friday 30 April
Bank Holiday Monday 3 May
Polling Day Thursday 6 May
Half term Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June
Ends Thursday 22 July
INSET day Friday 23 July

Please remember that any of the above dates may be subject to modification if this subsequently proves to be necessary because of changing circumstances.

On INSET days the school is closed to pupils.

Authorised and unauthorised absence

Parents should remember that they have a duty under the law to send their child to school, regularly and on time, for both of the school sessions on each day that the school is open.

Whilst absences due to ill health or for medical appointments in school time will normally be authorised automatically, authorisation for absences for all other purposes, including holidays intended to be taken in term time, can only be granted at the head teacher’s discretion.  Parents themselves cannot authorise their child’s absence, nor can the class teacher.

Requests for authorisation should be made in writing directly to the head teacher, well in advance of any proposed absence.  This should be done once plans are known but before any arrangements are made, giving the particular reasons why the proposed absence needs to be taken in term time rather than in one of the school holiday periods.